ANNUAL MEETING OF THE CITY COUNCIL

Friday 17 May 2013

PRESENT:

The Lord Mayor, Councillor Wright, in the Chair.

The Deputy Lord Mayor, Councillor Singh, Vice Chair.

Councillors Mrs Aspinall, Ball, Mrs Beer, Bowie, Bowyer, Mrs Bowyer, Casey, Churchill (The Deputy Lord Mayor subsequently), Coker, Damarell, Darcy, Philippa Davey, Sam Davey, Mrs Dolan, Drean, Evans, K Foster, Mrs Foster, Fox, Fry, Gordon, Haydon, James, Jarvis, Jordan, Martin Leaves, Michael Leaves, Sam Leaves, Lowry, Dr. Mahony, McDonald, Monahan, Murphy, Mrs Nelder, Nicholson, Mrs Nicholson, Parker, Penberthy, Mrs Pengelly (The Lord Mayor subsequently), Rennie, Ricketts, Dr. Salter, John Smith, Peter Smith, Stark, Stevens, Jon Taylor, Kate Taylor, Tuffin, Tuohy, Vincent, Wigens and Williams.

Apology for absence: Councillor Wheeler.

The meeting started at 10.30 am and finished at 11.40 am.

Note: At a future meeting, the council will consider the accuracy of these draft minutes, so they may be subject to change. Please check the minutes of that meeting to confirm whether these minutes have been amended.

1. ALDERMAN BROOKSHAW AND MRS BROOKSHAW

The Lord Mayor presented Alderman Brookshaw and Mrs Brookshaw with a gift to commemorate their time in office as Lord Mayor and Lady Mayoress for the 2011-12 civic year.

2. TO ELECT THE LORD MAYOR AND DEPUTY LORD MAYOR FOR THE PERIOD UP TO THE NEXT ANNUAL MEETING

<u>Agreed</u> that Councillor Mrs Pengelly is elected Lord Mayor and Councillor Churchill is elected Deputy Lord Mayor of the city for the ensuing year.

3. VOTE OF THANKS TO THE RETIRING LORD MAYOR AND DEPUTY LORD MAYOR

Agreed that -

(1) the council accords to Councillor Michael Wright the sincere thanks of the citizens of Plymouth for the invaluable services he has rendered to the city as Lord Mayor since May 2012, and for the able manner in which he has presided over the deliberations of the council during that period;

(2) the council also expresses its indebtedness to Councillor Chaz Singh for his diligent and efficient discharge of the duties of Deputy Lord Mayor, and to Councillors Mrs Aspinall, Bowie, Murphy and Mrs Nelder as the Lord Mayor's companions, and Mrs Sarah Kaur as the Deputy Lady Mayoress, who have supported them during their year of office.

The Lord Mayor presented the retiring Lord Mayor and the retiring Deputy Lord Mayor with gifts to commemorate their time in office for the 2012-13 civic year.

4. TO NOTE THE LEADER OF THE CITY COUNCIL

Councillor Evans continuing position as Leader of the City Council was noted.

5. TO NOTE THE MEMBERSHIP OF CABINET

The Council received the report of the Council Leader (Councillor Evans) which advised that there were no changes to Cabinet which would comprise the following Members –

Portfolio	Member
Deputy Leader	Councillor Peter Smith
Public Health and Adult Social Care	Councillor Sue McDonald
Finance	Councillor Mark Lowry
Children and Young People	Councillor Nicky Williams
Environment	Councillor Brian Vincent
Cooperatives and Community Development	Councillor Chris Penberthy
Transport	Councillor Mark Coker

The membership of Cabinet was noted.

There were no changes to the scheme of delegation for executive functions.

6. TO AGREE COMMITTEES AND THEIR MEMBERS AND APPOINT CHAIRS AND VICE CHAIRS

A schedule of the nominations to committees, joint committees, panels etc was submitted.

Agreed that -

- (1) approval is given to the appointments to committees, joint committees, panels etc and their chairs and vice chairs for the transaction of the business of the council until the next Annual Meeting as set out in the list circulated;
- (2) Conservative group appointments for one substitute member to the Tamar Bridge and Torpoint Ferry Joint Committee and one substitute member to the Mount Edgcumbe Joint Committee are deferred.

7. TO NOMINATE OR APPOINT REPRESENTATIVES TO OUTSIDE BODIES

A schedule of the nominations to outside bodies was submitted.

Agreed that -

- (1) approval is given to the appointments and nominations of councillors and others as representatives on outside bodies as indicated;
- (2) the following vacancies are deferred
 - Plymouth Arts Centre one representative;
 - Plymouth Community Homes Board two representatives.

8. **DECLARATION OF VACANCY - SOUTHWAY WARD**

The report of the Assistant Director for Democracy and Governance was submitted indicating that Councillor Browne ceased to be a member of the council after 30 April 2013 and that the council was required forthwith to declare his office to be vacant.

Agreed that a casual vacancy is declared for a member in the Southway Ward.

9. **DESIGNATION OF THE STATUTORY ROLE OF DIRECTOR OF PUBLIC HEALTH**

The Director for People submitted a report about the Director of Public Health.

Agreed -

- (1) that the council enter into an agreement under section 113 of the Local Government Act 1972 with Torbay Council to designate the Director of Public Health for Torbay Council as the joint Director of Public Health for Torbay and Plymouth City Councils;
- (2) the detailed terms of sharing arrangements with Torbay Council is delegated to the Director for People in consultation with the Cabinet Member for Public Health and Adult Social Care.